Rawalpindi Cantonment Board (RCB) was established on 1849.

Station Commander was assigned the powers of the Board as Administrator till the constitution of proper Board under section 13 A of the Cantonments Act 1924.

After local government elections in Cantonments in April 2015, first time a proper Board has been constituted.

Rawalpindi Cantonment has been divided into 10 electoral wards

Board comprises

  • PCB (Sta Comd)
  • 12 x civil members (10 Elected & 02 special interest seats)
  • 09 x nominated members by Sta Comd
  • 01 x Magistrate 1st class nominated by DM
  • 02 x ex officio